Student Council 2019 2020


Representatives from 1st -6th class will be elected to this year’s student council.

In order to be elected there will be:

  1. A letter of application required
  2. An Interview

In your letter of application to Ms. Coen please include:

  • Who you are and details about yourself
  • Why you should be on this year’s student council for your class
  • Things that you would like to achieve for your class/ the school this year

Closing date for letters is September 27th 2019 @ 2.50pm.

Interviews will be held the first week of October.

New Student Council will have their first meeting Monday 14th October 2019.

Give your letter to Ms. Coen when it is ready.


Student Council Election Results

Student Council Elections 2018/19

At Scoil Mhuire Lourdes, our Student Council members will represent the voice and opinions of all the children within our school. Through our Student Council we aim to develop young leadership skills, whilst supporting student democracy. Most importantly, our strong team of Councillors aim to promote the well-being of the children within our inclusive school. The Student Council is an ideal opportunity for pupils to get more involved in the way the school is run. It benefits the whole school, pupils and teachers, because it provides opportunities for pupils to communicate their feelings as well as influence decisions that are made.

The Student Council is run and led by the children, supported by a member of staff, and takes an active role in making decisions and suggestions on behalf of the children in the school.

Junior Infants: Sofia Crowson       Buddy: Chloe Halpin  Rang 5

Senior Infants: Laura Evans           Buddy: Sophie Corcoran Rang 5

First Class: Mr. Timmins Aria Cannon  Buddy Áine Farrell Rang 5

First Class: Ms. Turtle Ruby Lavin Buddy Orlaith Healy Rang 5

Second Class: Emma O’ Sullivan Buddy Erin Joyce Rang 5

Third Class: Ada-Jane Byrne & Zoe Keeley

Fourth Class: Jayne Smith & Holly Lavin

Fifth Class: Zoe Brady & Katie Byrne

Sixth Class: Kayleigh Doran & Briana Brlas

We thank all the girls who worked on the Student  Council last year who helped to make our school a better place.